Feminine Fusion

December 18, 2016: Up and Comers

Composer Anna Clyne

Composer Anna Clyne

“The artist is nothing without the gift, but the gift is nothing without work.”  Emile Zola



On this episode of Feminine Fusion, four talented composers whose names you may not know – yet.  Hear music by Lera Auerbach, Charlotte Bray, Dobrinka Tabakova, and Anna Clyne, four women who are certainly making their mark in the contemporary classical music world.


“Up and Comers”

Lera Auerbach:  Fragile Solitudes
Pro Musica

Charlotte Bray:  Passing Shadows
Antonis Hatzinikolaou, guitar
“Music of Memory: Seven British Composers write for the guitar”
NMC Recordings

Dobrinka Tabakova:  Concerto for Cello and Strings
Kristina Blaumane, cello
Lithuanian Chamber Orchestra, Maxim Rysanov, cond.
“String Paths”
ECM Records

Anna Clyne:  October Rose
Cornelius Dufallo, violin
“The Violin”
Via Records


Run time: 58:45


Feminine Fusion highlights the roles of women in classical music.  Host Diane Jones brings you stories and music of the women who create, perform and inspire.  Produced in the studios at WCNY-FM.

◄ Back to News