Feminine Fusion

January 22, 2017: Event-full

Jennifer Higdon

Jennifer Higdon

“Where words fail, music speaks” – Hans Christian Andersen


What does an orchestra do when it wants to commemorate a milestone?  They commission a new work, of course!  On this episode, two works, commissioned by two of the top orchestras in the United States, from two renowned female composers.




Kaija Saariaho:  Oltra Mar, 7 Preludes for the New Millenium
Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra; Tapiola Chamber Choir; Jukka-Pekka Saraste, conductor
“Cenq reflets de L’amour de loin; Nymphea Reflection; Oltra mar”
Ondine 10492

Jennifer Higdon:  Concerto for Orchestra
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra; Robert Spano, conductor
“City Scape/Concerto for Orchestra”
Telarc 80620



Run time:  58:44


Feminine Fusion highlights the roles of women in classical music.  Host Diane Jones brings you stories and music of the women who create, perform, and inspire.  Produced in the studios at WCNY-FM.

◄ Back to News