Feminine Fusion

June 15-21: Looking East, Part 2

Compass East

“Music produces a kind of pleasure which human nature cannot do without.” – Confucius


We are continuing our trek around the world with works and performances by women from Asia


“Looking East, Part 2”


Nicolo Paganini:  Caprice No. 23 in E-flat Major
Midori, violin
“Paganini: 24 Caprices”
Sony Classical 44944

Detlev Glanert:  Frenesia
Xian Zhang, conductor
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
“Horizon 6”
RCO 15001

Gabriel Fauré :  Ballade in F# minor
Yuja Wang, piano
Deutsche Grammophon 4794954

John Tavener:  To a Child Dancing in the Wind (selections)
Patricia Rozario, soprano
Kathryn Lukas, flute; Stephen Tees, viola; Helen Tunstall, harp
Collins 14282

Ravi Shankar:  Symphony
Anoushka Shankar, sitar
London Philharmonic Orchestra; David Murphy, conductor
“Ravi Shankar: Symphony”
LPO 0060

Run time:  58:29


Feminine Fusion highlights the roles of women in classical music.  Host Diane Jones brings you stories and music of the women who create, perform, and inspire.  Produced in the studios at WCNY-FM.

◄ Back to News