Feminine Fusion

November 20, 2016: Rule Brittania

Conductor Sian Edwards

Conductor Sian Edwards


“Music has healing power.  It has the ability to take people out of themselves for a few hours.”  – Elton John.


On this episode of Feminine Fusion, we cross the pond to visit the United Kingdom to hear from some of the talented women in the British classical music world.  Whether they compose, perform, or conduct, each of them has roots that run deep into the soil of the British Isles.


“Rule Brittania”


Rebecca Clarke:  Dumka for Violin, Viola & Piano
Jay Zhong, violin; Kenneth Martinson, viola; Andrea Molina, piano
“Rebecca Clarke: String Chamber Music”
Centaur CRC2847

Jennifer Margaret Barker:  Na Tri Peathraichen
Laura Baefsky, flute; Jennifer Margaret Barker, piano
Meyer Media MMV01001

John Adams:  Chamber Symphony
Ensemble Modern, Sian Edwards, conductor
“Music of John Adams”
RCA 68674

Anna Meredith:  Blackfriars
Oliver Coates, cello; Anna Meredith, electronics
Moshi Moshi Music

Robert Schumann:  Symphonic Etude No. 12, Op. 13
Dame Myra Hess, piano
“Myra Hess: Great Pianists of the 20th Century, Vol. 45”
Phillips 456832


Run time:  58:45


Feminine Fusion highlights the roles of women in classical music.  Host Diane Jones brings you stories and music of the women who create, perform and inspire.  Produced in the studios at WCNY-FM.

◄ Back to News