Feminine Fusion

S07 Ep43: O, Canada! Part 2


“Canadian pride may not rest on our sleeves, but it resides deeply in our hearts.” – Steve Miller

This week, we travel north to hear music from some talented Canadian composers and performers.


“O, Canada! Part 2”

Larysa Kuzmenko:  Melancholy Waltz (from Suite of Dances)
Susan Hoeppner, flute; Lydia Wong, piano
“Canadian Flute Masterpieces”
Centrediscs 23116

Violet Archer:  Concerto No.1  for Piano and Orchestra
Christina Petrowska Quillico, piano
Toronto Symphony Orchestra; Sir John Eliot Gardiner, conductor
“3 Concerti”
Centrediscs 15610

Philip Glass:  String Quartet No. 3 (Mishima)
Angèle Dubeau and members of La Pietà
“Philip Glass: Portrait”
Analekta 8727

Antonio Vivaldi:  Concerto for Cello in c minor
Ofra Harnoy, cello
Toronto Chamber Orchestra; Paul Robinson, conductor
“Vivaldi Cello Concertos, Vol. 1”
RCA Victor 7774-2

Fritz Kreisler:  La Gitana
Lara St. John, violin; Ilan Rechtman, piano
Well Tempered Productions 5185

J.S. Bach (arr. Magnus Fiennes):  Fugue
Lara St. John, violin; Trilok Gurtu, tabla & percussion; Chris Laurence, double bass; Matthew Sharp, cello; Krizszhoff Chorzelski, viola
“re: Bach”
Odyssey 93022


Run time:  58:30

Feminine Fusion highlights the roles of women in classical music. Host Diane Jones brings you stories and music of the women who create, perform, and inspire. Produced in the studios at WCNY-FM.

◄ Back to News