Feminine Fusion

S07 Ep48: Patchwork Quilt, Part XXXVII


“Some women choose to follow men, and some women choose to follow their dreams. If you’re wondering which way to go, remember that your career will never wake up and tell you that it doesn’t love you anymore.”  – Lady Gaga

Time for another Patchwork Quilt episode, an opportunity to simply look for what’s new, what’s appealing – to see what these talented musicians and composers are putting out for our entertainment.  We’ll put all of these disparate works together into a musical Patchwork Quilt of women’s music. So let’s settle in and share an hour of great music together.


“Patchwork Quilt, Part XXXVII”

Stephen Goss:  From Honey to Ashes
Gruca White Ensemble
Linda White, flute; Robert Gruca, guitar
“A Different Take”
Big Round 8964

Julia Wolfe:  Guard My Tongue
Ars Nova Copenhagen; Paul Hillier, conductor
Naxos 8.574281

Rain Worthington:  Within Deep Currents
Janáček Philharmonic Orchestra; Stanislav Vavrinek, conductor
“Sparks, Vol. II: Works for Orchestra”
Navona 6337

Florence Price:  Dances in the Canebreaks
Jeni Slotchiver, piano
“American Heritage”
Zoho Music 202008

Einojuhani Rautavaara:  Deux Sérénades
Hilary Hahn, violin
Orchestra Philharmonique de Radio France; Mikko Franck, conductor
Deutsche Grammophon 4839847

Caroline Shaw:  Narrow Sea
S­­ō Percussion; Dawn Upshaw, soprano; Gilbert Kalish, piano
“Narrow Sea”
Nonesuch 7559791788



Run time:  58:29


Feminine Fusion highlights the roles of women in classical music.  Host Diane Jones brings you stories and music of the women who create, perform, and inspire.  Produced in the studios at WCNY-FM.

◄ Back to News