Feminine Fusion

S08 Ep43: Strung Along, Part 4


“It’s live; it’s in the moment. Sometimes you’re given something by one of the orchestral players — this shape, that emotion — and you’re taking it from them. It needs to always be fluid. One cannot predict the outcome and one shouldn’t want to.” – Janine Jansen


We have a wide array of music for you on today’s episode of Feminine Fusion, from women playing strings.  You’ll hear from some familiar names, and some new ones, along with works from the traditional repertoire and some very new music – composed for some very old instruments

“Strung Along, Part 4”

Traditional, arr. Fritz Kreisler:  Londonderry Air
Nicola Benedetti, violin
Sheku Kanneh-Mason, cello; Benjamin Grosvenor, piano
“Beethoven Triple Concerto”
Decca Classics

Eric Moe: Verklaertes Holz (Transfigured Wood)
Rhonda Rider, cello
“The Petrified Forest Project”
Ravello Records 8103

Jean Sibelius:  Violin Concerto (excerpt)
Janine Jansen, violin
Oslo Philharmonic; Klaus Mäkelä, conductor

Dietrich Buxtehude: Trio Sonata Op. 1, No. 7
Margaret Little, viola da gamba
Noémy Gagnon-Lafrenais, violin; Christophe Gauthier, keyboards
“Buxtehude: Trio Sonatas Op. 1”
Navona 6523

Gerardo Dirié:  Noctuary Duos (excerpts)
Johanna Rose, viola da gamba
Diego Montes, bass clarinet
“Noctuary Duos”
Ravello Records 8104


Run time:  58:30

Feminine Fusion highlights the roles of women in classical music. Host Diane Jones brings you stories and music of the women who create, perform, and inspire. Produced in the studios at WCNY-FM.

◄ Back to News