Feminine Fusion

S5-41: Women’s Music Through the Ages – Tomorrow

Composer Gabriela Lena Frank

Composer Gabriela Lena Frank


“Music exists in an infinity of sound.  I think of all music as existing in the substance of the air itself. It is the composer’s task to order and make sense of sound, in time and space, to communicate something about being alive through music.” – Libby Larsen

This week, the part two of our episodes focusing on women’s music through the ages.  From Romantic works, and into the 21st century, these women are building on the past and strengthening the foundation for the future.


“Women’s Music Through the Ages – Today”



Clara Schumann:  Geheimes Flustern hier und dort, from 6 Lieder, Op. 23
Olena  Tokar, soprano; Igor Gryshyn, piano
Orchid Classics 100154

Cecile Chaminade:  Concertino for Flute & Piano
Mary Palchak, flute; John Novacek, piano
“Flute Music by French Composers”
Ambassador 1016

Florence Price:  Piano Quintet in A minor
Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective
“American Quintets”
Chandoes 20224

Libby Larsen:  Marimba Concerto After Hampton
John Kinzie, marimba
Colorado Symphony; Marin Alsop, conductor
“Libby Larsen: Deep Summer Music; Solo Symphony; Marimba Concerto After Hampton”
Koch 7520

Gabriela Lena Frank:  Three Latin American Dances
Utah Symphony Orchestra; Keith Lockhart, conductor
“Symphonic Dances”
Reference Recordings 105


Run time: 58:29

Feminine Fusion highlights the roles of women in classical music.  Host Diane Jones brings you stories and music of the women who create, perform, and inspire.  Produced in the studios at WCNY-FM.

◄ Back to News