Press Releases

Susan Arbetter honored with prestigious Hall of Honor Award

Syracuse, NY – WCNY, Central New York’s public broadcaster is pleased to announce Susan Arbetter, WCNY director, public affairs, host of “The Capitol Pressroom,” and “CONNECT NY” will receive the highest honor presented by The Women’s Press Club of New York State.

Arbetter will be inducted into the prestigious Hall of Honor at the 52nd Annual Awards and Scholarship Dinner, Oct. 24 for her award-winning journalism work, joining the ranks of many notable women including recent inductees Chris Jansing (2017), Benita Zahn (2016), Liz Bishop (2015), Judy Sanders (2014), Jill Abramson (2012) and Barbara Walters (2011).

The Hall of Honor was established in 1997 to honor Newswomen of Distinction who have charted the course for others and helped to shape our field. It is the highest award given by The Women’s Press Club of NYS.

Arbetter is being recognized as an outstanding model for professionals in the field, along with her more than 30 awards for electronic journalism, including – but not limited to a 2013 Emmy Award for Best Public Affairs Series for the television show “Insight;” radio broadcasting awards including those from Edward R. Murrow, Scripps-Howard, AP, PRNDI & NYSBA, and, the Albany Times Union’s “Best Local Radio Personality” and Berkshire Living’s “Favorite Voice.” The Women’s Press Club has previously honored Arbetter with its Media Person of the Year and the Excellence in Career Achievement awards for her work.

Those wishing to attend the WPCNYS dinner to show support for Arbetter or the other honorees including New York State Attorney General Barbara Underwood and Akum Norder, who will receive the Club’s Woman in the Media Award; Elisa Streeter, who will receive the Media Person of the Year Award; Mary Alice Molgard, who will receive the award for Excellence in Career Achievement; Casey Seiler, who will receive the Club’s first Standing O! Award; and Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY student, Jazmin Goodwin, who will receive the $1,000 Betty Flood Morrow WPCNYS Annual Scholarship. Everyone is welcome, and one does not need to be a member of the media or in the field of journalism to attend. Reservations may be made through Event Brite at

The Women’s Press Club of New York State is an organization of professionals in communications

careers. Founded in 1966, members include journalists, freelance writers, editors, and public relations

professionals across all media.

Haley Dubnoff
Director, Marketing, Communications & Creative Services
415 W. Fayette St.
Syracuse, NY 13204
(315) 385-7317

◄ Back to News