Feminine Fusion

August 20, 2017: At the Keyboard, Part 2

Martha Argerich

Martha Argerich

“For me, playing music is about transporting to another way of life, another way of being.” – Yuja Wang


The piano is, in many ways, an orchestra contained in a single instrument.  On this episode, we’ll return to the keyboard to hear three outstanding pianists in performance.


“At the Keyboard, Part 2”

Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 7, Op. 10, No. 3
Martha Argerich, piano
“Martha Argerich: Early Recordings”
Deutsche Grammophon 4798978

Franz Liszt (arr. by Sergei Rachmaninov): Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 in c# minor
Olga Kern, piano
“Rachmaninov: Transcriptions/Corelli Variations”
Harmonia Mundi 907336

Maurice RavelConcerto in G Major for Piano and Orchestra
Yuja Wang, piano
Tonhalle Orchestra of Zurich; Lionel Bringuier, conductor
Deutsche Grammophon 4794954




Run time: 59′ 17″

Feminine Fusion highlights the roles of women in classical music. Host Diane Jones brings you stories and music of the women who create, perform, and inspire. Produced in the studios at WCNY-FM.

◄ Back to News