Feminine Fusion

February 18, 2018: Patchwork Quilt VII


“We are all patchwork, and so shapeless and diverse in composition that each bit, each moment, plays its own game.”  – Michel de Montaigne


Time for another Patchwork Quilt episode.  Here are some works that I’m excited to share with you.


“Patchwork Quilt VII”

Jeanne Zaidel-Rudolph:  Suite Afrique
Jeanne Zaidel-Rudolph, piano; Walter Money, viola
Live performance – used with permission

Patricia Julien:  Among the Hidden
Moravian Philharmonic Orchestra; Petr Vronsky, conductor
Navona 6141

Dalia Raudinokytė With:  Primo cum lumine solis
Daniel Lippe, guitar
New Focus Recordings 186

Paulinho da Viola & Fernando Costa:  Choro Negro
Margaret Herlehy, oboe; Henrique Eisenmann, piano
“Rosewood Café”
Big Round Records 8950

Jennifer Higdon:  Violin Concerto, I. 1726
Hilary Hahn, violin
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra; Vasily Petrenko, conductor
Deutsche Grammophon 479 8295


Run time:  58:30

Feminine Fusion highlights the roles of women in classical music. Host Diane Jones brings you stories and music of the women who create, perform, and inspire. Produced in the studios at WCNY-FM.

◄ Back to News