Women Who Make America

  • makers-banner

Call for Nominations!

WCNY is seeking nominations for its 6th Annual ‘Women Who Make America’ Awards. These awards honor remarkable women who are game-changers in Central New York who demonstrate excellence in careers, as volunteers, as neighbors and everything in between! The deadline for submitting nominations for the awards in 2018 is December 20, 2017.
Any woman age 18 or older residing or working in WCNY’s 19-county viewing or listening area may be nominated. The counties are: Broome, Cayuga, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Oswego, Otsego, Schuyler, Seneca, Tompkins, Wayne, and Yates. Past award winners are listed below.
To nominate an outstanding woman, fill out the nomination form online or download a copy of the nomination form and submit it per the instructions on the form. Honorees will be announced March 8, 2018 at a ceremony at the Women’s Rights National Historical Park in Seneca Falls.


2017 Makers Award Winners

Diana Abdella

Mary Beer

Laurie Black

Ruth Colvin

Sue Edinger

Laura Miller

Kylie Pierce

Karen Sammon

Mary Alice Smothers

Christie Waters

2016 Makers Award Winners

Lisa Betrus

Sharon BuMann

Janet Callahan

Mary Q. Chapin

Annette Guisbond

Mary Krause

Katie MacIntyre

Anne Orr

Theresa Pagano

Tammy Van Epps

2015 Makers Award Winners

Kimberly Boynton

Virginia Carmody

The Honorable Bernadette T. Clark

Jean Harper Dean

Tracy Chamberlain Higginbotham

Lorraine Kinney-Kitchen

Dr. Mary Martin

Mia Adams McSherry

Dr. Erica Miller

Teresa Mosher

Jennifer Nadler

Virginia Robbins

Marietta von Bernuth

Wendy Washeleski

2014 Makers Award Winners

Mary Alice Bellardini

Margaret Buckley

Glynis Hart

Dr. Leslie Kohman

Sr. Monica A. Nortz, CSJ

Rebbecca Oppedisano

Melinda Sorrentino

Melissa Spicer

Patricia Sullivan

2013 Makers Award Winners

Megan Rae Bliss

Marlene Brown

Kimberly Burch

Sue Considine

Renee DeVesty

Rose Marie Fagan

Kate Finn

Gouverneur Business Women Breast Cancer Walk Fund Executive Committee

Dr. Rathika Martyn

Pam Matt

Agnes McCray

Andrea E. Rankin

Gigi Redmond

Karen Y. Richmond

Jean Siracusa

Linda Townsend, Ph.D

Carrie M. Tuttle

Support for WCNY’s “Women Who Make America” Awards provided by:


Classic FM


WCNY Oldies




Capitol Pressroom