Feminine Fusion

February 12, 2017: Composing America

The Lark Quartet

The Lark Quartet

“Do not worry when you are not recognized, but strive to be worthy of recognition.”  – Abraham Lincoln


Sunday marks the anniversary of Abraham Lincoln’s birth.  On this episode of Feminine Fusion, music from American composers marks that occasion.  We’ll hear the Lark Quartet with one of only two string quartets written by Aaron Copland; Katharine Hepburn narrates Copland’s “A Lincoln Portrait;” and Marin Alsop conducts “Gettysburg,” the Symphony No. 6 of Roy Harris.  Be sure to tune in!


“Composing America”


Aaron Copland:  Two Pieces for String Quartet
The Lark Quartet
“Composing America”
Bridge 9423

Aaron Copland:  A Lincoln Portrait
Katharine Hepburn, narrator
Cincinnati Pops Orchestra; Erich Kunzel, conductor
“Aaron Copland”
Telarc 80117

Roy Harris:  Symphony No. 6, “Gettysburg”
Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra; Marin Alsop, conducting
“Roy Harris: Symphonies Nos. 5 and 6”
Naxos 559609


Run time:  58:30


Feminine Fusion highlights the roles of women in classical music.  Host Diane Jones brings you stories and music of the women who create, perform, and inspire.  Produced in the studios at WCNY-FM.

◄ Back to News