Feminine Fusion

S5-33: One Life: Marin Alsop

Marin Alsop

Marin Alsop

“Every piece has a narrative, and it is our job, as conductors, to convey that story with total commitment.”  – Marin Alsop

She has achieved an impressive array of “firsts” in her life, simply by following her chosen path with strength and commitment.  On this episode we take a look at the life and career of conductor Marin Alsop.


“One Life: Marin Alsop”


James P. Johnson:  Lament, from American Symphonic Suite
Marin Alsop, conductor
“Victory Stride: The Symphonic Music of James P. Johnson”
MHS 513664

Roy Harris: Symphony No. 3
Marin Alsop, conductor
Colorado Symphony Orchestra
“Harris: Symphonies Nos. 3 & 4”
Naxos 8.559227

Leonard Bernstein: Candide
Marin Alsop, conductor
Sao Paolo Symphony Orchestra
“Bernstein: Anniversaries for Orchestra”
Naxos 8.559814

Jennifer Higdon: Percussion Concerto
Marin Alsop, conductor
Colin Currie, percussion; London Philharmonic Orchestra
“Marin Alsop conducts MacMillian, Ades and Higdon”
LPO 0035


Run time:  58:29


Feminine Fusion highlights the roles of women in classical music.  Host Diane Jones brings you stories and music of the women who create, perform, and inspire.  Produced in the studios at WCNY-FM.

◄ Back to News