Feminine Fusion

September 4, 2016: From Parlor . . . to Prize Winners

Clara Schumann

Clara Schumann

Julia Wolfe

Julia Wolfe



“I once believed that I possessed creative talent, but I have given up this idea; a woman must not desire to compose – there has never yet been one able to do it.  Should I expect to be the one?” – Clara Schumann

We’ve come a long way from the days when Clara Schumann denied her own talents in order to better conform to societal norms.  In the premiere episode of Feminine Fusion, you’ll hear the work of composers who have left the parlor behind, and earned well-deserved accolades for their music and creativity.


“From Parlor … to Prize Winners”

Clara Schumann:  Three Romances for Violin & Piano
Donne e Doni
“Music by Women Composers”

Ruth Crawford (Seeger): Quartet – 1931
The Pacifica Quartet
“Declarations:  Music Between the Wars”

Ellen Taaffe Zwilich: Symphony No. 1 (Three Movements for Orchestra)
Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, John Nelson – conductor
“Ellen Taaffe Zwilich – Orchestral Works”
New World Recordings

Julia Wolfe: Anthracite Fields (Movements 3 & 4)
Bang On A Can All-Stars, Choir of Trinity Wall Street
“Anthracite Fields”
Cantaloupe Music


Run time:  58:29

Feminine Fusion highlights the roles of women in classical music.  Host Diane Jones brings you stories and music of the women who create, perform and inspire.  Produced in the studios at WCNY-FM.

◄ Back to News